My Cloth Diaper Story

This blog post is a contest entry, but I think it’s a great idea to write about the benefits of cloth and my personal experience.  Please comment and tell me about your experiences!  I always love to hear from others!

I started using cloth diapers almost 12 years ago when I had my oldest son.  Back then it wasn’t a choice, I had no money for diapers.  NONE.  So, for about $20, my mother got me a diaper pail, some pins, a few rubber pants, and made me some flannel flats out of an old flannel sheet.  It started out as a way to cut down on my use of disposables, but quickly I found a love for those diapers that I never thought would happen.  I started using them when I was out of the house (dirties went into a bread bag!), I only used disposables at night.  He rarely had rashes, and the amount of money I saved was crazy!

Fast forward 8 years and I was pregnant again with my daughter.  We knew that we would use cloth again, but were unsure if we wanted to go with flats again.  We started out with flannel flats when she was little, then moved onto fitteds, pockets and prefolds.  By the time she was a year old, we had way too many diapers and had never paid anymore then $250 for all the diapers that we had.  We were so happy with the decision we had made!

A few years later and we were pregnant again with our son.  The only things that we had to purchase were some small covers and prefolds, which were bought used.  We might have paid $60 to get ready for him.  Then when he outgrew the smalls, he went into the same diapers that his big sister was wearing.  And we recouped about $40 from selling his diapers.  Eventually we did have to replace some of our prefolds, but it was still worth every penny.  The old prefolds were added to the rag-bag for cleaning.  They are still super absorbent, just rough around the edges.  Diaper Decisions has a great chart that explains the costs of each type of diaper for you.

Cloth diapers are super easy.  Even to use flats and prefolds (the most economical choice), after you use them a few times, you’re an old pro.  YouTube has some great videos that can help you out.  Washing may take a little bit of a learning curve as well, but it’s still super easy.  If you are exclusively breastfeeding, even the poopy diapers get thrown in the pail. (It’s water soluble.)  Even if you have to rinse the dirties off, a diaper sprayer (a must have in  my opinion) deals with it.  I have never actually touched to poo on a diaper….EVER.

We have never once regretted our decision to use cloth diapers with our children.  They have only ever had teething rashes on their bums, we have saved loads of money, and they are really easy once you get the hang of it.  In fact, even my husband grabs a flat or prefold and a cover over the pocket diapers.  If that doesn’t speak volumes to the ease of use, I don’t know what is!

Happy Diapering!

10 Comments

Filed under Cloth Diapering, Contest, Green Living

10 responses to “My Cloth Diaper Story

  1. how awesome that you were able to use them for so many years!!

    I was contemplating the diaper sprayer, but so many people say “yes” so I’m thinking it’s a must!

  2. Brenda

    Wow! That’s really amazing that you were able to cloth diaper for so little money! I think I often fall into the trap of all the fluffy cuteness that I forget my main reasons for cloth diapering…saving money and the environmental impact. Thanks for sharing your story!

  3. Lauren

    I have been debating about a diaper sprayer, but have found thus far, we are OK without it. I can’t believe that you have been doing it so long and started with so little. That’s amazing!! Good for you!!

  4. Wow I never even thought of making my own diapers! Thanks for this post!

  5. Loved reading your story 🙂
    Reminds me how far cloth diapers have come in the last 10 or so years, too.

  6. Rachel N

    Thanks for sharing your story. Crazy that you were able to diaper 3 children for such little money! You should write a post about how you made diapers for all those people who are struggling and can’t afford to even buy cloth diapers.

    • I should clarify…only my first son was diapered for so little. My other children, I developed a bit of an addiction! lol! Plus things had changed so much in the 8 years, there was no way I wanted to just do flats and covers again. I wanted to spread my wings! Funny thing is though, I always go back to my flats and prefolds! lol!

  7. Jodi J

    I’m amazed that your husband uses the prefolds and flats, my husband will use fitted diapers, pocket diapers, or AIOs but everything else is just too complicated for him. I love my prefolds!!! I keep hearing everyone rave about flats but it’s the only type of cloth diaper I’ve never tried, maybe I’ll have to pick some up (or use some of my son’s old receiving blankets!)

  8. i cloth diaper because i think it is more comfortable and it would be what i would want to wear if i were a baby (and it was what i wore as a baby). I have only found positives to cloth diapering and am so glad that i was able to give my son (and future children) and clean healthy start at life. i love it so much and have never looked back (or gone to the store to buy disposables!)

  9. Belinda

    I love cloth diapering and have never regretted making the decision! We never have to deal with bum rashes and have saved soo much money! Our diaper sprayer is amazing, but I would still have no complaints without one!

Leave a Reply

