Different Diaper Types

So I thought that this week, I’d go over the different types of cloth diapers you can buy. There are lots of brands for each type and I will link you up with brands that I know and have used. And maybe a couple that I haven’t used, but are extremely popular right now.

Today we’ll tackle flats and prefolds. These are your Grammys diapers. There is a learning curve with these, and you do need separate covers, but are easy to wash and CHEAP! Cheap, cheap, cheap!

First flats. These are pretty much what people used back when on their babies. They must be folded and pinned, and you should use a cover with them. Nowadays, you can use a Snappi to hold your diapers on and this eliminates the risk of pricking your baby. Here is a great site to help you with folding your flats: http://www.greenmountaindiapers.com/flat.htm .  Also check out YouTube. Just search for flat diaper folding and you will find lots of videos to help you!

I first used flats almost 12 years ago *tear* when I first had my son. My mom made me flats from old flannel sheets and I pinned them and used Gerber pull up covers. I used these for MONTHS! So easy to clean, and once you get the hang of it, so easy to use! When I got pregnant with my daughter 8 years later, the first thing I asked for were flats, and my mom and grandmother graciously obliged. I used those flats for the first 4 months I had my daughter. The were also used by my sister exclusively for at least 6 months. (She can correct me if I’m wrong!) And they are still in excellent condition and useable for at least one more baby if not more! All I bought were covers. The only reason I stopped using flats was because I wanted to explore the world of cloth diapers more!

So when I started looking more into cloth diapers, I didn’t stray far from flats. The first thing I purchased was a Bummis Organic Cotton Diaper Kit ( http://www.bummis.com/ca/en/organic-cotton-diaper-kit.php?adr=1 ). I’m still using these workhorse diapers on J2! They are a little ratty and starting to go, but I have faith that they will last for quite a bit longer. They have been in use for over 3 years now and some of that was 2 kids in diapers. I got my money worth. And when I feel that they just aren’t cutting it for diapers, they will go into my cleaning supplies. We always grab one of these bad boys if there’s a mess to clean.

With prefolds, there is folding, pinning, and the use of a cover involved as well. But there is a much lesser learning curve with prefolds because they are already folded a bit for you. They are made from birdseye cotton and are sewn with different layers for absorbancy. Here’s an excellent site on folds for you: http://diaperpages.com/pf_folds.php   Also searching on YouTube is a great suggestion as well.

Flats and prefolds are much easier to clean and dry than other diapers. Because they are so thin, the detergent washes out of them much easier, leading to less build up, which means less stinkies! They also dry super fast (flats that much faster)! I do find that the staining stays a bit longer on them, but nothing a dose in the sun can’t handle.

Take a look around online and start liking what you see! There’s something to be said about the diapers that our ancestors used! And yes, ancestors! They didn’t have Huggies in Biblical times!

Check back later and I’ll discuss the different types of covers you can use to cover these flats and prefolds!

Leave a comment

Filed under Diaper Review

Leave a Reply

