A Challenge for the Greater Good

I was searching around on the internet and came across the Flat and Hand washing Challenge that Dirty Diaper Laundry held back in May.  The reason that she did it (from what I took from the challenge) was to show that all families can use cloth, there are some choices with minimal up front fees, and you can do cloth even if you have to use a laundry mat or don’t have regular access to a washer.

Later on today, I was thinking about the people who use the food bank in our community.  I was reading a note on our food bank FB page and was saddened.  I understand that Christmas time is tough on families, but it always shocks me when I read updates from the food bank.

I was thinking that if these families have such a hard time getting food for their families, what else can they do to make the burden a little less?  Do the families with children in diapers let their kids sit in disposables until they can’t absorb anymore so they can make that package stretch a little farther?  Have they thought about cloth, but was shocked by the price of the newer, more modern cloth diapers?  What if they have to go to the laundry mat?  Does our laundry mat have a policy against cloth diapers?

I obviously don’t know the answers of these questions, but was wondering what I could do to help out.  We’re feeling the pinch of Nova Scotia Powers’ most recent power hike.  We’re trying to cut our grocery budget now before the price of food goes up again.  We’re keeping the van in the driveway as much as possible to try to cut our travel budget.  We have a modest income from my husband, not too much, but not too little, but Student Loans and other bills threaten to choke us monthly.  If we’re feeling like this, how are all the families that have lost their jobs lately feeling?  I couldn’t imagine.  And the thought of my kids sensing that kind of stress from us brings tears to my eyes.

So what can I do?  Well, I had a thought.  I am going to challenge you to start a box to go to your local food bank.  Keep a list of what you send and a running tally of the weight of your box.  Do this for the month of February and then post you’re totals on the February Food Bank Challenge FB Event Page.  Keep us up to date of the course of the month to let everyone know how you’re doing.  It doesn’t have to be much.  An extra box of cereal in your grocery order, or some unused cloth diapers that are sitting in your stash.  Any little bit counts!  Call your food bank and see what items go the fastest and maybe buy those all month.

There’s no prizes for those participating.  But knowing that we are helping keep the food bank stocked a little more is more than I need for compensation!

The first thing going into my box are my baby prefolds!  What about you?

 

1 Comment

Filed under Generosity, Uncategorized

One response to “A Challenge for the Greater Good

  1. What a wonderful post. It is easy to forget these things when you don’t see it first hand.

Leave a Reply

